For you are all one in Christ Jesus

Ok, first let me give you an idea of where we are when reading this passage. In this book of Galatians, Paul is addressing the churches of Galatia and in this particular passage he is addressing the law and what it means for all us us that have faith in Jesus Christ. He was referring to Jews and Gentiles being one in Christ and no longer set apart. 

Galatians 3: 19 Why then the law? It was added because of transgressions, until the offspring should come to whom the promise had been made, and it was put in place through angels by an intermediary. 20 Now an intermediary implies more than one, but God is one.

21 Is the law then contrary to the promises of God? Certainly not! For if a law had been given that could give life, then righteousness would indeed be by the law. 22 But the Scripture imprisoned everything under sin, so that the promise by faith in Jesus Christ might be given to those who believe.
23 Now before faith came, we were held captive under the law,imprisoned until the coming faith would be revealed. 24 So then, the law was our guardian until Christ came, in order that we might be justified by faith. 25 But now that faith has come, we are no longer under a guardian, 26 for in Christ Jesus you are all sons of God, through faith. 27 For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ. 28 There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. 29 And if you are Christ’s, then you are Abraham’s offspring, heirs according to promise.

Bible.com/app

Wow, as I read this passage this morning on my Bible App and it really hit home, specifically the portion I put in bold. I think it is the fact that he is telling us that we are all one in Christ. Those of us that were baptized into Christ have put on Christ, we are all one in Christ. I know I have heard this time and time again, we are all part Christ’s body, we are brothers and sister in Christ, etc. For some reason that concept is finally sinking in as I am typing this post.

We are ONE, TOGETHER, IN CHRIST.

If only we would see it that way more often! It doesn’t matter what ethnicity, gender, social or economical status you claim, we are all united in Christ. That is amazing. Sure we all have our strengths, weaknesses and personalities that we bring to the table, but we are all equals. This is not a concept we here very often in our society. We are taught to excel in order to be better than the competition. We are taught to look at ourselves as though we are special because of whatever talents and abilities we posses. I am beginning to see that this is not what God intended for us. I am seeing that God intends us all to excel and use our talents for His glory alone. We should be coming along side one another and work towards the same goal rather than just trying to “out-do” one another. We pretend to think of each other as equals in this life, but do we really? It can go quite the opposite way also, I often find myself thinking that another believer is better than me. I get caught up in the idea that they are further along in their walk, so they must be a better person than I, they must be closer to God somehow. He must love them more than me as I am a wreck! Truly this is not true and God loves us all, He meets us all exactly where we are in each moment and we should do the same for each other.

So, I am going to try to be more Christ like and keep all this in mind as the day, week and month go on. My prayer today is that this concept sinks in deep and stays with me. I pray that I am able to meet those around me exactly where they are. I want to stop trying to be right, better, smarter or less of anything and just be with those around me. We are one and I want to meet you exactly where you are.

Ephesians 6 tells us to put on the whole armor of God. This passage in Galatians tells us that when we are baptized  we put on Christ. This is something we need to do each day as a protection and as a reminder of who Christ is and who He wants us to be. I pray that we do this each day.

Leave a Reply

