New Glasses

Distortion

1 John 4:4 Little children, you are from God and have overcome them, for He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.

I picked up my new glasses last night and forgot about the whole getting used to seeing through a new pair of glasses part of the deal. I put them on and lost my depth perception! Since then I have been adjusting to these new glasses and learning how to go about my every day tasks with them.

This made me think. Made me think about where I have come from, who I was compared to who I am today, and how my perspective has changed as I take on Jesus’ point of view. It is really very similar to the new glasses. When I first take on a new idea, a new angle, a new behavior, it is awkward. My first steps in being more Christ-like were more like stumbles. Reminds me of when my kids were learning to walk. I was excited and ready to run with it! Confident that I knew how! Unfortunately we all know that you cannot learn to run before you learn to walk and this caused me to fall flat on my face…..often. Taking things slow has never been my approach to things, but I have come to learn that in my walk with Jesus I just need to be patient and take my time.

To do things in His time. Not in my time.

Last night I was tempted to take these glasses off and put on my old ones. I was used to those. Sure, these new glasses are clearer and have better lenses in them, but it would be so much easier to go back to my other ones.

Do you struggle with this too? The temptation to just go back to how things were because it was easier? Easier to not care about how my actions are effecting those around me. Easier to drown my sorrows in a bottle of wine rather than to pray through it, lean on God and grow through the pain. Easier to be in the flesh.

Is it really easier? Or is it just more familiar? Just something I know more intimately becasue I have spent more time in it.

Really, when it all boils down, it is easier to be in Jesus. It is easier to know that my God loves me through all the times I fall flat on my face. Better to know that through it all I have Jesus in my corner. Easier to see clearly through my Christ tinted glasses. Better to be firm in the adjustment periods and allow Him to do His work in me.

So today I urge you to resist those temptations to fall back into your old ways, whatever those may be for you, and allow Jesus to adjust your perceptions in this world. Take your time and grow in those periods of adjusting to the changes that transpire and reap the rewards!

2 thoughts on “New Glasses

    • We resist change because we think it requires effort. In fact, it requires only one thing: letting go of what we think is best.

      Thank you, sister, for sharing. God bless!

Leave a Reply

