Bloooming!

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”  Isaiah 43:18-19

I am a wasteland. I have been a wasteland for some time now. I started my journey with Christ about 6 years ago and can say that I am beginning to feel the streams that God has been placing in the wastelands of my soul.

I am beginning to feel the new, the springing up, the bloom.

It takes time for the planted seed to grow, it must be planted, tended to, watered, cared for. Lucky for me, Jesus planted a seed that needs little maintenance and can survive periods of drought. How lucky for me that even when I am not tending to the garden that God is trying to plant, I am surrounded by those that help water those seeds that have been so carefully placed.

Over the past few weeks I have been in the position of testifying to a co-worker. Speaking with her has been fulfilling and has been full of teachable moments, for both of us. I have come to realize that I retain much more than I thought. I never realized. I tend to feel like there is soooooo much to learn and that I am so far from knowing the word compared to others.

Compared to others. Why do I do that? Why do I compare my walk to the person next to me? What does that accomplish? Other than bringing me down while I tell myself that the person over there is so much further along in their walk than I am. Maybe they are, maybe they aren’t. We don’t really know what another person struggles with and it’s not our job to try and top them. Jesus wants us to come along side each other and walk. Just walk. Talk with each other about what is going on, lean on each other when the walk gets too steep and to love each other through the good times as well as the bad. Learn from those around you.

If you are spending all your time looking at those around you in order to see how you are measuring up, well you’ll miss out on some great experiences! When you’re hiking with a group, you should go at your own pace and enjoy the scenery. You will find yourself walking next to different people at different times, talking about your experience in that moment and learning from each other. Now, if you spent all your time on this hike worrying about what other people were thinking of you, or wearing yourself out while trying to keep up with the faster, more experienced hiker, well you wouldn’t have such a great experience now would you?

Anyway! Let me get back to the point at hand lol.

Booming. I have been blooming!

I have been in a place where a woman had been asking me about Paul and wasn’t he a thief…and I actually had answers! Hey Pastor John, I have been listening! I have been finding scripture pop into my head in times of struggle and anger. I am beginning to understand things that I have heard over and over and over again and thought I understood.

My knowledge in the Word is deepening.

My relationship with Jesus is deepening.

I am growing and blossoming in His love and I am enjoying every minute of it.

Now, all I need to do is remember to water these shoots and blooms. Jesus will take care of the pruning. God will pour out His light. If I hold up my end of the bargain, then I will reap the rewards.

Thanks for being on this journey with me, it’s an honor to have you all by my side.

Leave a Reply

