Psalm 46:1-7

46 God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble. 2 Therefore we will not fear, Even though the earth be removed, And though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; 3 Though its waters roar and be troubled, Though the mountains shake with its swelling. Selah

4 There is a river whose streams shall make glad the city of God, The holy place of the tabernacle of the Most High. 5 God is in the midst of her, she shall not be moved; God shall help her, just at the break of dawn. 6 The nations raged, the kingdoms were moved; He uttered His voice, the earth melted.

7 The Lord of hosts is with us; The God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah

Over the past few weeks I have been thinking quite a bit about how much I have gone through in my short time here on earth. I have experienced quite a lot of darkness, so much so that a few professionals told me that I had experienced more by the age of 15 than most people do in a lifetime. So yes, God has had a lot of baggage to work through with me in this life. These things have caused deep scars and a lot of the wounds were left to fester and would rear their heads on occasion, still do to a degree. Yet, the other day when I looked back at these things I found myself thinking that they really weren’t all that bad. At the time I was experiencing them, they sure were. The time that followed where I used them as an excuse for my actions, they sure were.

I have come to a point in my walk where they pale in comparison to the peace I feel in my heart. The peace the God has provided in this life gives me perspective. God is my refuge and even though I was not a believer during those dark times, I can look back and see that He was most assuredly by my side in those troubled waters. If He was not there protecting me, then I know for certain that I would not be here with you today to share these thoughts and experiences. Before I found Christ, or should I say before He finally caught my attention, I was not sure what to believe in. I would pray to an unknown force. I knew there was something far greater than I out there and I was always searching to find out what it was. God was faithful and a very present help in these times and I am so grateful for it.

Now that I have found my Lord and Savior I know that I shall not be moved because He dwells in the very center of this life. Let the nations move, let the storms rage, let this world fall. God IS in the midst of me and I know there are better days coming. I know that I will ascend into heaven with my God and look back to see that all I have gone through was just a blip in time and was nothing compared to the beauty I will experience in His presence.

Now this doesn’t mean that I don’t fret. I absolutely stress, become frustrated and cry out in pain still. I am human and this is part of being in this realm. This only means that regardless of what is going on in this life, I know I can turn to my never-changing God and rest in the fact that He will always be there for me. He will always be there to offer the peace and rest my soul craves. He shows me that despite the horrible things we experience in this life, we are His and He will bring us out of the darkness.

God is faithful.

This is all temporary.

Rest in His love.

Leave a Reply

