Unqualified

I don’t feel particularly qualified for anything really. This kept me from pursuing particular things in life when I was younger. I never pursued a college education after high school. I was no longer living with my mother by the age of 15 and found that working and supporting myself was more important. While there are times when I wish I completed a “higher education” purely for the fact that there are many positions I would love, and they require a degree. I also know that having a degree does not qualify you in and of itself. I have acquired many positions by proving myself and gaining the experience that makes me a valuable employee. I have always been open and honest. I admit when I stumble and am accountable for my mistakes. I am actually amazed that co-workers find me to be of value at times.

Why do I bring this up? Well, I have not felt particularly qualified for God’s work either. I know, I know, God qualifies the unqualified. I have heard this saying many times and have found a sense of comfort in it at times. I have heard it, I have not understood it or felt it.

Ephesians 3:7-10 New English Translation (NET)

7 I became a servant of this gospel according to the gift of God’s grace that was given to me by the exercise of his power. 8 To me—less than the least of all the saints—this grace was given, to proclaim to the Gentiles the unfathomable riches of Christ 9 and to enlighten everyone about God’s secret plan—a secret that has been hidden for ages in God who has created all things. 10 The purpose of this enlightenment is that through the church the multifaceted wisdom of God should now be disclosed to the rulers and the authorities in the heavenly realms.

Less than least of all the saints, yup THAT I can understand. Who am I that God would give His grace so freely? Who I am that others would find comfort in my words? Who am I that I would think I am qualified to even speak of the great mysteries of this life? There must be people better suited for this I am sure. Go talk to a Pastor or a Priest or someone who has attended seminary at least, they must have better answers! They could at least quote scripture I am sure, or direct you to a verse that will help.

I am slowly beginning to understand what qualifies me to speak to those God puts in my path. Him. He is the qualifier and I never will be. God uses those that rely on Him completely. How else can I be an instrument, a tool for Him to use if I am not connected to Him? Only when I am able to lay it all down before Him and ask Him to work through me can I be effective in His work. Only when I stop putting myself in the picture and stop looking for the end results can I do what He wants to be done.

Only when I stop looking for the recognition and the give Him all the glory, can I be in a place that He can use me.

It has been seeping down into my heart how God uses those that you would never think worthy. This excites me! Mary and Joseph became outcasts, Jesus was born into a filthy manger, the shepherds were the scum of society and yet THESE are the circumstances that God choose to use. He did not go to those that “knew it all”.  He went to those that were approachable.

Today I want to encourage you to step out of your comfort zone and into faith. Thank God that you are not worthy and ask Him to use you to spread His love, compassion and good news. Allow yourself to be empty of self and let Him fill you and flow out of you.

In Jesus’ name I pray that we stop trying to qualify ourselves and let our Lord work through us. Take ourselves out of the equation.

Leave a Reply

