The Power of Jesus

This past week has ben an interesting one…technically I guess this  started two weeks ago, I just decided to face it in the last week.

As I have mentioned previously, we have a wonderful new home that we have been moving into these past two weeks. We have waited for quite some time to be in a place where we could move and it was worth the wait, God has truly blessed our family. I have never seen my family happier than they have been in our bright new home!

From the moment we signed the lease my husband has said that the place was haunted. I never felt anything creepy so I just ignored it and assumed he was just trying to creep me out. When I fell in the basement my husband told me it was the ghost of the house tripping me to get my attention, I told him he was crazy and that it was my own fault I stepped wrong. There are no such things as haunting I kept saying.

I work with a woman who has many gifts, I may not necessarily agree with how she uses them from a Christian perspective, but there is no denying her gifts. She confirms that there is a spirit in my home during a conversation a few days ago. She tells me that he is not a malevolent soul but that he is definitely there. When she told me this, it hit me hard that I have definitely been experiencing things that I was choosing to ignore. This caused me to start thinking about my past experiences with the spirit world. I began to wonder if I was meant to communicate with this spirit, did it have something to tell me? Was this a gift that I was supposed to use in this manner? I needed more information. I spoke with the woman at work who said she would be happy to work with me on this and that I should go into my basement and hold the old cane hanging to see what I see and feel from it.

I am sure you are all reading this thinking, what is wrong with you! Don’t yo know that the Bible tells us to NOT communicate with spirits at all?!?! Well I do. I did. I was in a place of confusion and trying to put together my gifts that I know I possess and wondering if I was missing something. I knew I was missing something. In my heart of hearts, I knew that there was a missing piece to this experience and couldn’t quite put my finger on it. I prayed over it, I did not communicate with the spirit and knew that I would want to talk to my pastor before deciding anything. at one point, in the early morning I heard footsteps coming up my stairs while I was contemplating all this and I simply told it to go away and that I needed to speak with my pastor before I decided what I was going to do with it. Sounds crazy doesn’t it? I felt crazy while it was happening.

Past experiences of my imaginary friends I had when I was growing up that were only at one family members home were playing in my mind. Memories of how I would speak to the earth, the trees and rocks when I was a child, the person I spoke to at the age of 10-11, that only I could see and others made fun of me for. The Ouija board experience that scared the crap out of me and looking back at convinced me that my friend and I were speaking with a dark spirit that must have attached itself to him. He spoke to me of a spirit that followed him home that night, he swore it was sleeping next to him, his life went down hill fast from there and I never put it together. I pray for him now.

There is the fact that I just know things. I can feel other people’s feelings, I can tell the moment a lie comes out of a person’s mouth. I know when things are going to happen, i have dreams that come true. These are gifts from God that I have and I began to wonder why He would allow me to feel spirits, why would I know where they are and when they are around? What is the purpose?!

So I speak to my pastor and after telling him that I was pretty sure he would think I was crazy, I laid it all out and asked for some help! Brilliant man that he is (there is a reason he’s a pastor!), he told me that first of all the Bible tells us that a spirit is and always was a spirit, never a living being.

Hebrews 9:27 And just as each person is destined to die once and after that comes judgment, (NLT)

Then why does this spirit portray itself as an old man who lived in the home?

Brilliance again, the spirits are all around us and watch us. They can tell many intimate details about the people they dwell among. The spirits in my life as a child can tell you much about me. This is how they can make us comfortable conversing with them and how they catch our attention. We can verify facts that they offer and that can bring a sense of comfort in this type of thing.

Why was it opening my blinds? Why was it making the sounds of footsteps? By the way, I made sure it wasn’t the cats as they were in my room and everyone else was sleeping. There is a distinct noise my stairs make when someone walks up them. My pastor reminded me of the story of the demon possessed boy.

Mark 9 25 When Jesus saw that the crowd of onlookers was growing, he rebuked the evil spirit. “Listen, you spirit that makes this boy unable to hear and speak,” he said. “I command you to come out of this child and never enter him again!” 26 Then the spirit screamed and threw the boy into another violent convulsion and left him. The boy appeared to be dead. A murmur ran through the crowd as people said, “He’s dead.” 27 But Jesus took him by the hand and helped him to his feet, and he stood up. 28 Afterward, when Jesus was alone in the house with his disciples, they asked him, “Why couldn’t we cast out that evil spirit?” 29 Jesus replied, “This kind can be cast out only by prayer.”

He brought to my attention that it was not necessary for the spirit to make the boy convulse and froth at the mouth, just like it was not necessary for the spirit in my home to make footsteps or open blinds. The reason they do these things is to creep us out and cause fear and doubt.

My pastor also reminded me that I could tell it to leave in the name of Jesus….I seemed to forget that part, I was thinking I needed to have someone else do it for me.

This was huge! The missing link! I was ignoring it and hoping it would go away. I needed to acknowledge its presence and tell it to go away. I had to dedicate that home and my family to Jesus and cleans my home. I have the power in Jesus! Jesus is power! How could I forget that? How could I allow this to bring fear into my heart? I know better!

This is why I share this with you. I do know better. I had the answers and God was working in me to show me what needed to be done, I just allowed myself to be blinded to it. This is why fellowship is so important. I felt stupid and crazy but chose to talk about it anyway. I threw it out there and shared my crazy thoughts and feelings with my pastor. I am happy that I did, otherwise I would still be living in wonder and fear.

We need to lean on and open up to each other. We need to be able to share or fears, our experiences and our doubts. We all have them. Only when we can be real and reach out can we truly support and lift each other up in the midst of these trials, both big and small.

Today I encourage us all to open and honest about our struggles. Lean on each other and seek clarity when the darkness seems to ba making it difficult to see clearly. Most of all remember that you have power in Jesus, all you need to do is call on Him and He will be there. He will work through you as powerfully as you expect Him to. The key is to expect Him to do miracles and He will!

In the Power of Jesus I pray you have a blessed day.

One thought on “The Power of Jesus

  1. We have a spirit in our house, too! I keep telling everyone in the family the same thing John told you about how to handle it. Ours portrays itself as a child usually. I can relate to your ouija board story, too. My mom used to be into occult stuff before she got saved and she used to read tarot cards and taught my sister and I to. Then, one day, I was home alone and distinctly heard my sister’s voice calling my name. When I told her and my mom about it, it turned out each one of us had had the same experience. We realized we were inviting spirits into our home and stopped reading tarot cards. I’m so glad that I am in the truth now and that I have Jesus on my side! 🙂

Leave a Reply

