How do I love thee? Let me count the ways….

I love God.

I love Jesus.

It boggles my mind that He loves me so.

In the past few days I have had a few things happen that brought to mind just how lucky I am. I mean I always feel like I have a lot to be thankful for. I am healthy, my family is healthy and I am loved.  I could make quite a long list of things to be thankful for but I won’t get into all that right now. I want to focus on the 2 things that have been brought to the forefront as of late.

God loves me. He has always loved me and always will. That love does NOT waiver. My pastor asked us to look back to the person we were when God chose to reveal His Son to us. Think about the life I was living and just how ignorant I was. I mean I still am but I have grown significantly. Perspective is key here. I often find myself being down and out because I am in a place of failure and flesh. I can beat myself up for not being in the word like I said I would be, or for my sinful nature coming out strong. I think I start to feel like God must be keeping His distance in these times when in reality it is me that is pulling away from Him. Why? He knows me through and through and has loved me in the deepest, darkest places. He wants me to bring these insecurities, failures and sin to Jesus. He wants to love me through these times. It’s up to me to allow Him to do so.

Second, my church rocks. I mean really. It is fantastic. The leadership has really kept it real and has maintained a level of awesomeness. They don’t judge, they don’t lie, they are not looking to gain anything and there are no politics to be had. Really. I have waited for almost 6 years for the other shoe to drop and it hasn’t. It’s a church full of people who come in all shapes and sizes. Pastor teaches the Word of God line by line and does not interject his own agenda. It really is refreshing and awesome. I think we sometimes take these great things for granted because we get used to them. We need to take time to sit back and review all the great things we have in this world to be thankful for because we can very often get comfortable and forget just how privileged we are.

Keep it real!

Leave a Reply

