Supplements, cha cha cha

Sorry, I am thinking in song today 🙂

So, onto supplements!

I have imbalances that needed attention and have tried the conventional methods as well as more natural methods. Then I give up all together and have to start all over. Well, a few months ago I decided that I needed to stop that, do some research and slowly add supplements until I find what works for my body.

St. John’s Wort – There is a history of depression on both sides of my gene pool and I can be quite anxious at times….I know, you can’t tell beneath my cool exterior 😛 So, rather than jumping on head meds prescribed by my doc, I have chosen to take St. John’s Wort. I started with 300mg a day for a few weeks and am now taking 700 – 800 mg a day, depending on the brand I happen to have on hand. It has really helped. I have definitely felt a balancing in myself. I do not have a severe degree of depression or anxiety so this is a good fit for me. If someone with a more extreme case were to ask my opinion, I would suggest that they talk to their doc before trying anything. I have spoken to my doctor and she is well aware that I am introducing herbal treatments into my life. She was in full agreement 🙂

You can find St. John’s Wort in any health foods store or  Click Here!

Nettle/Quercetin – I suffer from allergies and have also felt off in a hormonal sense since I had my baby. So, after some research I came across Nettle. Nettle has been shown to be a great supplement to use in lieu of over the counter allergy relief medications. I also found out that it has been shown to help with PMS! Bam! Two birds, one stone and all that. I took Nettle about 6 weeks before Spring to ensure it was in my system and it has worked! Recently, when I was looking to order more I found a Nettle- Quercetin combo and decided to give it a try. Why not? Quercetin has been shown to help boost the immune system, fighting allergies, support bone and cardiovascular health. I feel like we’re getting more bang with each capsule now! So far so good, I have not had to take Claratin and by now I am usually dying. I did try Butterbur somewhere in between as well but did not find that to be effective at all. I get mine from Amazon here 🙂

Juice Plus – This is the protein drink that my hubby and I have found to work the best for us. We each have one shake in the morning and I can say for myself, that I am not looking to eat again until around 11 am. Good stuff! Oh, and it tastes good too! You can check it out on here 🙂

So that is all we do for now. I prefer to add one thing at a time and let it work into my system to see how it goes. I start at a low dose and stick to that for a few weeks before changing anything. I think this is part of the reason people don’t use natural supplements more often. It takes time! There are no quick fixes, but it will work if you give it time.

Next! I will be adding Maca Root to my regime. The reason I have chosen this is because it is a super food and can be added to my morning protein shake! Also, it has been shown to help even out hormones. I feel more balanced hormonally, but being a woman and all makes me think that I can use all the balancing I can get! Rich in B vitamins, high in bioavailable calcium (who can’t se some calcium?), magnesium and has been shown to be great for remineralization. Sounds like a good deal to me!

I will keep you all posted and will get into more details on why these things are good for you so that we can learn together in future post! Thanks for coming along on my travels, here is to a happier and healthier life!

Leave a Reply

