So He sends us also

Luke 4:18-19 NET

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed, 19 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

John 20:21 NET

So Jesus said to them again, “Peace be with you. Just as the Father has sent me, I also send you.”

These two verses settled on mt heart today.

Jesus expects us all to proclaim good news to the poor, proclaim liberty to the captives and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.

These are His commands. Often I spend prayer time begging Jesus to do a worki in my life, transform me, make me more like Him and to tear out the deep dark parts on me. This is so self-centered.

Of course I want to change, but am I following His direction? How often do I turn from myself and proclaim the good news to the poor? When do I step out of my comfort zone and proclaim liberty to captives? I mean I have a hard enough time opening my mouth when in the midst of fellow believers. I allow myself to feel inadequate.

I am inadequate, but Jesus isn’t. He has not set me up for failure by telling he to set out to accomplish impossible things. He expects me to step out of my self and follow Him as He followed the Father.

It’s time my prayers change direction and I start asking Him to show me where Ge wants me to step up, step out and let Him shine through me. It’s time I take myself out of it and follow His call.

People are captive in this word and they need to know that chains can broken and lives healed when Christ is accepted into our lives.

I fall short, way short and need my Savior to accomplish greatness in this life. A greatness that will bring Him the glory He deserves.

Leave a Reply

