WWJD

Prior to becoming a believer in Christ, I would scoff at the whole WWJD movement. Now, I don’t wear the bracelets or have the bumped sticker, but I do get the idea behind it now. What would Jesus do? I ask myself that all the time. Probably not often enough, but pretty often.

Recently I was asked a favor from someone who has, in the past, always made things difficult for me. As they were asking, all I could do was think about all the wrongs they’ve done. I had enough restraint to not flat-out refuse, I was able to ask to get back to them later that day.

My initial response was, “how dare they ask from me after all they’ve done to hurt me.”

I couldn’t fathom why this person would even be in the place they claim to be in. I was making assumptions about how they live in a way that they should not have to worry about certain things.

I had three really long lists formed in my mind. A list of ways they wronged me, ways I have compromised to be fair and a list of what they should be doing the rectify their situation.

These were my responses in my flesh. But what would Jesus do? What is the Spirit leading me to do?

I thought about the story of the adulterer from John 8:4-11, my Pastor spoke of it this past Sunday.

4 they said to Him, “Teacher, this woman was caught in adultery, in the very act. 5 Now Moses, in the law, commanded us that such should be stoned. But what do You say?” 6 This they said, testing Him, that they might have something of which to accuse Him. But Jesus stooped down and wrote on the ground with His finger, as though He did not hear.

7 So when they continued asking Him, He raised Himself up and said to them, “He who is without sin among you, let him throw a stone at her first.” 8 And again He stooped down and wrote on the ground. 9 Then those who heard it, being convicted by their conscience, went out one by one, beginning with the oldest even to the last. And Jesus was left alone, and the woman standing in the midst. 10 When Jesus had raised Himself up and saw no one but the woman, He said to her, “Woman, where are those accusers of yours? Has no one condemned you?”

11 She said, “No one, Lord.”

And Jesus said to her, “Neither do I condemn you; go and sin no more.

Jesus does not ask me to pass judgment or to condemn others. I am certainly not able to cast the first stone, that’s for sure.

So, in Jesus’ wisdom, I chose to calm down and ask for specifics from this person reaching out to me. I began to think about how difficult it must have been for them to come to me at all. I pushed through the flesh and chose to be in the Spirit.

This person was not asking a lot, they’re not looking to take advantage and I am not enabling them by any means. We are blessed with other things going in currently and that gives us the ability to help. So I choose to help. I choose to do what Jesus would do.

This is huge in my spiritual growth. Not all that long ago I would have been surprised and satisfied with my not reacting in anger. That would have been a huge accomplishment. Christ has brought me to a different place and I want to give Him the glory He deserves for the place He has brought a wretch like me.

We are to love. We are to help and support where and when we can. This includes those that I may not particularly want to help. I am never to lose sight of another’s humanity.

In Christ’s love I shares these things.

Leave a Reply

