The author of my life

“Let me try to give something, not the same, but a bit like it. Suppose I am writing a novel. I write “Mary laid down her work; next moment came a knock at the door!” For Mary who has to live in the imaginary time of my story there is no interval between putting down the work and hearing the knock. But I, who am Mary’s maker, do not live in that imaginary time at all. Between writing the first half of that sentence and the second, I might sit down for three hours and think steadily about Mary. I could think about Mary as if she were the only character in the book and for as long as I pleased and the hours I spent in doing so would not appear in Mary’s time (the time inside the story) at all.

This is not a perfect illustration, of course. But it may give just a glimpse of what I believe to be the truth. God is not hurried about the Time-stream of this universe anymore than an author is hurried along in the imaginary time of his own novel.” – C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. – Jeremiah 29:11

The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps. – Proverbs 16:9

Why do I worry so much?? Why do I get so anxious?? Why do I react to interruptions with such tension??

God knows all, is all, and uses all to His glory. I am a mere servant, His child, a tool for His disposal. God is good and I want to change my perspective so that I stress less and surrender more, to the author of my life.

One thought on “The author of my life

Leave a Reply

