Hair Rinse

I am beginning a new hair rinse and here is the recipe!

2 Cups of vinegar. Any vinegar work, but most people prefer apple cider.

5 – 10 drops of essential oil.  I LOVE lavender but any will do. Rosemary is great for your hair too.

Mix the vinegar and essential oil in a GLASS bottle/jar. Oils can react with other materials go with the glass.

You can choose to let it sit for a day or two before using or use it right away! Add approximately 1/2 tablespoon of the mixture to approximately 1 cup of water and toss in your hair. You can also choose to rinse it out or leave it in and towel dry.

I have an old conditioner bottle that I add my mixture to before I get in the shower, I add warm water, shake and rinse when it’s time. Otherwise, if I prepare it ahead of time, I end up with freezing cold water on my head and back. I don’t know about you, but I am not a fan…nope, not at all.

Yes, your hair will smell like vinegar….until it dries. It’s magical! Once my hair dries it smells so good! Not even a hint of vinegar.

Play around with the amount of mixture vs. water and see what works best for your hair. I would not use any more that frequently than every other day. If you are transitioning to a new shampoo or no-poo regime then I would suggest every-other day, otherwise everyone is different and the dryness or oiliness of your hair will determine washing and vinegar rinse frequency. I have oily hair myself and wash every other day most of the time.

Have you tried this recipe? How did it work for you? Did you change anything up? I love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Hair Rinse

  1. Well you know me…been doing the acv rinse for years! I don’t add essential oils but sometimes “pickle” orange peels (not any part of the actual fruit) in it for a couple weeks on the counter for a nice citrus smell. This makes a couple cups of “concentrate” and then I add to water as needed for the rinse.

    Also, I have been washing my hair with homemade shampoo – if you’re venturing to be really crunchy! Coconut milk, aloe vera, rosemary oil, and a tad of baking soda or castille soap. So good you could almost eat it (actually, you could!).

    • Awesome, thanks Molly!

      I have tried a lot of home made shampoo and find that I don’t take the time to make it enough. I have settled on using my Dr. Bronners. My hair does well with that 🙂 one stop shop, shampoo and body wash! 🙂

Leave a Reply

