Lifestyle change going strong!

I have had so many people ask me what I am doing to loose weight. Still the same thing, eating real food only!

Have I cheated in these 3 months? Yup! I do not make a day out of my “cheats”, but I will eat some rice here and there 🙂

Just Eat Real Food. I have hear this over and over again and now find myself saying it over and over again. Drop the carbs, toss the processed foods, loose the sugar, and eat real food. Your body will thank you, mine is!

I feel great. I sleep better, have more energy, and have a much healthier relationship with food now. I am satisfied after eating. I eat when I am hungry and eat until I am full. It’s is truly that simple. I know that I am overweight and that my body is not running efficiently, so I am choosing to not eat fruit or starchy veggies like sweet potatoes and legumes. Not often anyway….once a month at best now that I am in the swing of things here.

I gave this change a good 5 weeks before I allowed myself to eat a little rice, I highly recommend that you get real strict right off the bat for at least 4-6 weeks. (I am not an expert by any means) Give yourself time to adjust to the changes, let your body adjust. I also increased my Himalayan sea sat consumption to aid my body in hydration. When you are not consuming carbs, your body needs the added salt….as always, consult your own doctor when making drastic changes to your diet, especially if you have any health conditions going on. Broth is a good supplement also for increasing sodium 🙂

Be kind to your body the first couple weeks, drink LOTS of water, eat when you’re hungry….get a good night’s sleep. I had a supply of meats and cheese in the fridge that I could just grab when feeling hungry. Pickles were great for my crunchy/salty needs.

Be sure to eat full fat everything! No more low fat items. That means, high fat meats, cheeses, dressings, creams, butter, etc. A list of some items a friend gave me:

1. Avocados

2. Butter

3. Whole Eggs

4. Coconut Oil

5. Bacon

6. Sour Cream

7. 70% Ground Beef

8. Full fat cheddar or hard cheese

9. Coconut

10. Dark Chocolate 80% Cacao

11. Cream Cheese

12. Macadamia Nuts

13. Pecans

14. Foie Gras

15. Heavy cream in your coffee

Here are Boars Head meats/cheeses that are good:

 

1. Bologna

2. Strassburger Liver

3. Olive Loaf

4. Cooked Salami

5. Vermont Cheddar

6. Havarti

7. Monterey Jack

8. Muenster

9. Hard Salami

10. Mortadella

11. Pepperoni

Read the ingredients before buying lunchmeats. I was reading the ingredients through the glass and was shocked to see all the sugar and chemicals added to the meats. So, if you’re a lunchmeat kinds of person, READ THE LABELS. Seriously.

 

Here is a calculation that will tell you if the food is high in fat:

Fat Gram Content x 9. Divide by total calories in the serving of food. Multiply by 100 – This gives you the percent fat

 

Easy meals/snacks from the same friend listed above:

Scrambled eggs with cheese

Deviled Eggs

Boursin cheese stuffed mushrooms, broiled

Guacamole with pork rinds

Pepperoni Chips (microwave for 60-90 seconds) dipped in whipped cream cheese

Jalapeno Poppers (stuff with cheese, wrap in bacon, and broil)

Celery stuffed with cream cheese/blue cheese mixture

Creamed spinach (fresh spinach with lots of butter, garlic, and cream cheese or boursin cheese

Watch this video! This helped me understand how my body processes carbs and fats.

Here are some of the sites I read when I was preparing to begin this journey.

Michael R. Eades, M.D.

The Salt Myth

Low Carb High Fat for Beginners

Low Carb Meal Plan

These were great when starting out. Check them out! I will continue to post as I walk this road. I have lost 25lbs and have not counted a single calorie. I have simply started fueling my body properly.

This month I will start working out a bit, I will do one of those easy “get started exercising” deals. You know, the ones that say 5 crunches, 5 jumping jacks, 5 crunches today….10 tomorrow, etc.

I am also planning to do an early morning virtual Prayerful Fitness & Workout this week. Wish me luck!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Lifestyle change going strong!

  1. Congratulations on your weight loss journey. Thanks for sharing this food list. It would be nice to see you post before and after photos.

  2. I am really loving the theme/design of your blog.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility
    issues? A handful of my blog audience have complained about my
    website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.

    Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

Leave a Reply

