Doing Good to All

Galatians 6:1-10

New International Version (NIV)

Doing Good to All

Brothers and sisters, if someone is caught in a sin, you who live by the Spirit should restore that person gently. But watch yourselves, or you also may be tempted. Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ. If anyone thinks they are something when they are not, they deceive themselves. Each one should test their own actions. Then they can take pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to someone else, for each one should carry their own load. Nevertheless, the one who receives instruction in the word should share all good things with their instructor.

Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. 10 Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

As I read this portion of scripture, I can feel the pain that sin can bring into our lives. I have a heart for those that are facing that sin in their lives while having to deal with judgment from fellow believers. We are not to condone sin, we are not to brush it off as no big deal, we are commanded to come along side and to restore gently.

Who I am to pass judgment? Where does God command me to do so? He does not. I can list so many struggles I have in my own life that can easily overcome if I step out of God’s will  for just a moment. How many times have I lashed out from a place of sin and the pain that comes with it? Is it not hard enough dealing with the repercussions that follow my poor choices? Does God not warn us of this?

Matthew 7

New International Version (NIV)

Judging Others

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

Brothers and sisters, I take this time to remind us all that we need to be forgiving. We need to allow our Lord to change this hearts, to love as He loves and to forgive as He forgives. Is His grace not sufficient? Do I deserve His love? Did He deserve the wrath He accepted on all of our behalves?

Stop. Take a moment, pray, and gain perspective. Not one of us deserves this life, but our loving God gave it to us anyway. Who are we to pass judgment and condemn others for their sins? Who am I? I am a sinner who struggles to keep my eyes off self and to keep them on my Lord and Savior. I know that I have a very real enemy that is ever lurking and waiting to pounce the very moment I blink. None of us are exempt. We all fall short. Let us join in this together and ease the burden.

Today I pray for you right where you are and in whatever struggles you may be in.

Leave a Reply

