Proverbs Study Day 1

I am beginning a study in Proverbs and invite you all to join me! I don’t know about you but I sure could use words of wisdom and this is the perfect book to find them! God’s Word is great and I am excited to jump into this book today. I ask that you pray for me, this study and I will be praying for all of you. I hope you enjoy this time and I look forward to hearing from you. I would like to encourage you all to post a comment with any thoughts, prayer request and insights you may have.

 


Proverbs 1

The Purpose of Proverbs

These are the proverbs of Solomon, David’s son, king of Israel.

Their purpose is to teach people wisdom and discipline, to help them understand the insight of the wise. Their purpose is to teach people to live disciplined and successful lives, to help them do what is right, just, and fair. These proverbs will give insight to the simple, knowledge and discernment to the young. Let the wise listen to these proverbs and become wiser. Let those with understanding receive guidance by exploring the meaning in these proverbs and parables, the words of the wise and their riddles. Fear of the LORD is the foundation of true knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline.  

A Father’s Exhortation: Acquire Wisdom

My child, listen when your father corrects you. Don’t neglect your mother’s instruction. What you learn from them will crown you with grace and be a chain of honor around your neck. My child, if sinners entice you, turn your back on them! They may say, “Come and join us. Let’s hide and kill someone! Just for fun, let’s ambush the innocent! Let’s swallow them alive, like the grave; let’s swallow them whole, like those who go down to the pit of death. Think of the great things we’ll get! We’ll fill our houses with the stuff we take. Come, throw in your lot with us; we’ll all share the loot.” My child, don’t go along with them! Stay far away from their paths. They rush to commit evil deeds. They hurry to commit murder. If a bird sees a trap being set, it knows to stay away. But these people set an ambush for themselves; they are trying to get themselves killed. Such is the fate of all who are greedy for money; it robs them of life.

Wisdom shouts in the streets.

Wisdom shouts in the streets. She cries out in the public square. She calls to the crowds along the main street, to those gathered in front on the city gate: “How long, you simpletons, will you insist on being simpleminded? How long will you mockers relish your mocking? How long will you fools hate knowledge? Come and listen to my counsel. I’ll share my heart with you and make you wise. I called you so often, but you wouldn’t come. I reached out to you, but you paid no attention. You ignored my advice and rejected the correction I offered. So I will laugh when you are in trouble! I will mock you when disaster overtakes you – when calamity overtakes you like a storm, when disaster engulfs you like a cyclone, and anguish and distress overwhelm you. When they cry for help, I will not answer. Though they anxiously search me, they will not find me. For they hated knowledge and chose not to fear the LORD. They rejected my advice and paid no attention when I corrected them. Therefore, they must eat the bitter fruit of living their own way, choking on their own schemes. For simpletons turn away from me – to death. Fools are destroyed by their own complacency. But all who listen to me will live in peace, untroubled by fear and harm”


What I have taken away from this chapter today:

Our Lord is telling me that in this book I will  receive insight, knowledge, discernment, wisdom and understanding. He invites me to explore and tells me that I will find words of the wise and riddles to explore. This excites me! Our Father had given us this book to equip us for this journey. That is the very purpose of this book we are embarking upon today. He purposely created this so that we can acquire the things listed here. This reminds me that Jesus wants us to live successful lives. We have the Creator of all life on our side. He sent His only Son to die for us and we have the Helper dwelling within us so that we can have these things. How exciting is that?!? Can I get an Amen?! 🙂

Our Lord wants all good things for us. He wants to teach us wisdom and discipline. He wants to help us understand. His desire is for us to live disciplined and successful lives. He gives His children His Word and His Spirit to accomplish His desires. These words are also commandments from our Lord and He commands all to fear Him and warns that only fools despise these things. God IS wisdom. God loves His children and warns of the consequences of sin. The Trinity shouts wisdom to all who are willing to hear. Our Lord calls out to all of humanity. Jesus is always calling, I need to pause long enough to hear Him.

Sin is all around us and I need to remember that. God is telling me to avoid those that seek to live outside of His commandments. Those who purposely set out to harm others and lay traps are actually trapping themselves and setting themselves up for a desolate existence that will cause their own death. Sin separates us from God and willingly choosing to live in sin will forever separate us from God’s presence. There is no need for this. God has made a way for us to receive His forgiveness and can deliver us from this eternal separation. All we have to do is accept Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior. I remember who I was before I found Christ and the emptiness that was there. I am reminded of the fact that I was not even aware of just how empty my life way until it was full. 

I am also reminded that I can so often be foolish. I can get wrapped up in myself and the world around me and I disregard the wisdom God gives us so freely. When I turn away from the word of God and the discipline He bestows, I am essentially telling him that I despise all good things He offers. This is not meant to be harsh and I am smiling as I write this. God knows my heart and He knows His creation. These words are here to remind me of where I need to be and of the death that occurs when I choose to follow any other path. This is a reminder of my free will and how careful I must be to not stray. I can have a fruitful life when I am living in the Spirit.

My heart aches for those who live complacent and comfortable lives. A lack of difficulty in life can cause one to be comfortable living in a place of emptiness and separation from God. I find it interesting how people can easily turn pain and suffering against God just as easily as some can use a life full of comforts.

No matter how far I may feel that I have fallen, I am reminded that Jesus is right there, ready to take my hand. All I have to do is ask. My Father is a loving Creator and I can rest in that. He does not wish for life to be difficult and quite frankly, I am the one who gets in the way and makes things so much more difficult than they have to be.

I get in the way of God’s work when I don’t heed His Word. I must remember the infinite wisdom handed down to us and write it on my heart.

My prayer today:

Father, today I come before you and pray that you melt this heart of stone and still this wandering spirit. I ask that you penetrate my very core and to break the chains of foolishness I wrap myself in. Open my eyes, pierce my heart, and remind me of who You are each moment of each day. I thank You in Your Son’s precious name. Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

