Why should I share?

These past few months have been flying by! Work, family, fun, lots of fun. Often I have found myself contemplating various ideas and thinking that I should come on here to share with all of you, and then I talk myself out of it. I begin to think that maybe it’s not important to share that particular idea.

Today I am on here to remind myself and all of you that we need to share. Sharing our struggles, triumphs and questions helps us all grow. I love to be reminded that I am not alone in my wanderings. To let all of you know that you are not alone has always been my wish.

To be open and honest with our imperfections. To allow ourselves to be vulnerable with each other. To accept and love each other in the midst of it all. These are my hopes for us.

I don’t want to get on here to vent and bash my life. I want to embrace this life, dig deep and grow. I want to share my wrongs and how God has healed this wounded soul. I want to take ownership and I want you all to be here with me in it. I want to hear from all of you and learn from your experiences. I want my perspective to continue to grow. I want us all to be open, honest and true in front of one another. How frightening and how liberating it can be.

This culture I live in tells me to be strong, put on a happy face, judge those that are different and cover the not so pretty parts of me. I don’t want to anymore.

Today I choose to be happy with who I am at this very moment. I choose to stop and just be comfortable in my own skin. Today I choose to love what God created in me. When I tell myself that I am not good enough, I am essentially telling God that He made a mistake. When I tear myself apart for not measuring up to some standard I have set, I am telling God that I am the one in control.

God gave me this life. Jesus died so that I can have a relationship with Him. Right now is when I am looking to God and telling Him that I give up. I give up the illusion of control that keeps me captive. Isn’t that the kicker? That when we get down to it, I am the only one allowing myself to be held captive. I am the one listening to the lies whispered in the background, I am the one not bringing these uncertainties before the Holy One that I know can deliver me. I keep myself tucked away in the dark, afraid to step out in the light.

Today I encourage you all to take that leap of faith. Step out into the Glorious Light that Jesus provides. Our Lord will never force anything on us, even if He knows just how beautiful that outcome will be. It is up to each of us to decide to let the garbage go and walk out of our self created cells. We are not imprisoned by some unseeing force that holds us captive. We allow it to happen when we live in the shame that has already been paid for by Jesus.

Have faith my friends. Don’t allow the shame to keep you from the freedom that is so much closer that you realize. Bring all your pain, sorrow, shame and guilt before the Great Healer and you will be blown away by the work He is aching to do in you.

Love you all and pray that we all give up the things that keep us back so that we would live fuller lives.

Leave a Reply

