Proverbs Study Day 2

God morning! Here we are on day 2! Keep praying and commenting, I love to hear from you all. The more we all share the wider each of our perspectives will become. God uses His people, will you allow Him to use you today?


Proverbs 2

The Benefits of Wisdom

My child, listen to what I say, and treasure my commands. Tune your ears to wisdom, and concentrate on understanding. Cry out for insight, and ask for understanding. Search for them as you would for silver; seek them like hidden treasures. Then you will understand what it means to fear the LORD, and you will gain knowledge of God. For the LORD grants wisdom! From His mouth come knowledge and understanding. He grants a treasure of common sense to the honest. He is a shield to those who walk in integrity. He guards the paths of the just and protects those who are faithful to Him. Then you will understand what is right, just, and fair, and you will find the right way to go. For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will fill you with joy.  Wise choices will watch over you. Understanding will keep you safe. Wisdom will save you from evil people, from those whose words are twisted. These men turn from the right way to walk down dark paths. They take pleasure in doing wrong, and they enjoy the twisted ways of evil. Their actions are crooked, and their ways are wrong. Wisdom will save you from the immoral woman, from the seductive words of the promiscuous woman. She has abandoned her husband and ignores the covenant she made before God. Entering her house leads to death; it is the road to the grave. The man who visits her is doomed. He will never reach the paths of life. Follow the step of good men instead, and stay on the paths of the righteous. For only the godly will live in the land, and those with integrity will remain in it. But the wicked will be removed from the land, and the treacherous will be uprooted.


What have I taken away from this chapter today:

As I was typing this chapter, I was struck again with the reminder of our free will and that walking with God or walking away from God, is a personal choice we all make. You cannot make the choice for anyone other than yourself. We can pray for others and hope that they will open their eyes to the Holy Spirit and accept Jesus into their lives, but the choice is all theirs. This is why I think so many turn away from those that try to manipulate people into choosing. If Jesus is not forcing humanity to follow Him, then why would I think that I can? Who am I to try and force others to do anything at all? It is my job to let them know about Christ and that He is the way, the truth and the light. I am here to proclaim all that He has done and is doing in my life. I am a witness to the saving grace bestowed upon me. I am not to judge others or condemn them for anything. I uphold law as is required by me and that is all. I know that I am guilty of trying to push too hard at times. Sharing and pressuring are not the same thing. I must be sure to keep my intentions pure and to slow down in order to allow the Spirit to work through me. Again, I need to not get in the way!

God is telling me to treasure His commands. I love that. He is telling us to treasure His words, that they are truly that important. More important than any other treasure you can find here on earth. When I was first saved, I would think people were nuts when they would say stuff like that. As I have grown in Christ and my relationship deepens, I get it! As The Spirit has been opening my heart, these words written speak to me in a way I never thought possible. Sounds corny right? Well it is and it’s true!

God protects His children. That does not mean that we will lead lives free of pain or suffering. The problem is that we are so focused on the here and now. I know that I am really just beginning to grasp the concept of an eternal life. That this is not our permanent home, that the  moment my short time on this earth ends, I will instantly be in my Lord’s presence. In the past, when I thought of death, I was terrified and envisioned darkness. Now, I am beginning to see it as a continuation into eternity and I love it! Be anxious for nothing.

Today we are reminded that our Lord loves us so. He is our protector and we must truly concentrate on what He is telling us. I think of when I tell my own children to listen closely because I am telling them something that is important and that I am always coming from a place of wanting to protect them. How much more so is our Great Creator? I do not want to be the wicked that will be removed from the earth, I do not want to be the one that walks in sin away from the paths of life. I want to understand and follow my God in all things. I want to remember that perfection is impossible, but that I will forever be in a state of learning and growing in Christ. I am grateful that I have this choice and that God is patient and gracious enough to allow me the free will I have.

My prayer today:

Father, I come before You in humility and ask for You to grant me wisdom. I praise You and thank You for always protecting Your children and for the great words You have given us. I pray that my knowledge and understanding will continue to deepen as I walk with You. I pray for all that are reading this right now and ask that You wrap them in Your loving, protective light. I pray that You speak to them Lord and that they listen. I continue to pray that You soften this heart of mine and that Your  love will flow out of this life I am living. I pray that I bring peace, joy, love and kindness to all of those You put in my path. Above all else, I just pray for Your will to be done Father. In the precious name of Jesus I pray these things.

Leave a Reply

