Proverbs Study Day 4

Day 4, how has God’s word been speaking to you lately? One of the things I truly enjoy is the fact that 2 people can be reading the same exact portion of scripture and have completely different experiences based on where they are in their walk. I hope this study is a blessing for all who are reading it.


Proverbs 4

A Father’s Wise Advice

My children, listen when your father corrects you. Pay attention and learn good judgment, for I am giving you good guidance. Don’t turn away from my instructions.  For I, too, was once a father’s son, tenderly loved as my mother’s only child. My father taught me, “Take my words to heart. Follow my commands, and you will live. Get wisdom; develop good judgment. Don’t forget my words or turn away from the. Don’t turn your back on wisdom, for she will protect you. Love her, and she will guard you. Getting wisdom is the wisest thing you can do! And whatever else you do, develop good judgment. If you prize wisdom, she will make you great. Embrace her, and she will honor you. She will place a lovely wreath on your head; she will present you with a beautiful crown.” My child, listen to me and do as I say, and you will have a long, good life. I will teach you wisdom’s ways and lead you in straight paths. When you walk, you won’t be held back; when you run, you won’t stumble. Take hold of my instructions; don’t let them go. Guard them, for they are the key to life. Don’t do as the wicked do, and don’t follow the path of evildoers. Don’t even think about it; don’t go that way. Turn away and keep moving. For evil people can’t sleep until they’ve done their evil deed for that day. They can’t rest until they’ve caused someone to stumble. They eat the food of wickedness and drink the wine of violence! The way of the righteous is like the first gleam of dawn, which shines even brighter until the full light of day. But the way of the wicked is like total darkness. They have no idea what they stumble over. My child, pay attention to what I say. Listed carefully to my words. Don’t lose sight of them. Let them penetrate deep into your heart, for they bring life to those who find them, and healing to their whole body. Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life. Avoid all perverse talk; stay away from corrupt speech. Look straight ahead, and fix your eyes on what lies before you. Mark out a straight path for your feet; stay on the safe path. Don’t get sidetracked; keep your feet from following evil.


What have I taken away from this chapter today:

What struck me today was how frequently it is repeated that we need to pay attention, listen, not to forget these words, over and over. Our God knows us and knows our tendencies. I know that I can very often get wrapped up in the ways of this world and become distracted quite easily. It does not take much to knock me off-kilter and cause me to become annoyed or angry. It can be very difficult in these times to pause, take a breath and pray to God for His wisdom and peace to replace my feelings. I can struggle with choosing the appropriate response when anger is burning bright within. I become tempted to go against good judgment and to lash out.

God desires for us to lead good lives. He desires for us to posses the peace and wisdom He offers. We need to be in His word, we need to write it deep in our hearts. I am reminded of when you are carving your initials in a tree, you must go over those letters again and again until they are deep in the trunk. This is how you ensure they last and do not fade. I think it’s similar with God’s word. If I don’t take care to carve his promises and commandments deep into my heart, they will fade. If I don’t consistently ask our Lord and Creator to soften my heart, it will harden. Jesus loves me, He died for me and I need to remember these truths so that I can walk the straight paths He lies before me and to have the strength to walk away from the darkness that is always looking to consume me.

My prayer today:

Mighty God, I thank You for Your love, wisdom, grace, and mercy. I ask that You continue to soften this heart that has been so hardened by this world. I pray that I stay focused and continue to carve Your word deep into my heart. I pray that all who read this are inspired by Your word and that they too look for their hearts to be softened. I pray for Your wisdom, guidance, and peace to flow out from this life for as long as You allow me to walk this planet. I pray that I keep my eyes on the eternal and on You always. Thank You for all You have done, are doing, and will be doing in this life You have granted. In the name of Jesus I pray.

Leave a Reply

