Proverbs Study Day 9

Thank you all for coming along this journey with me and hearing how God’s word is working in my life. I truly hope that you too are being impacted with this study.


Proverbs 9
Wisdom has built her house; she has carved its seven columns. She has prepared a great banquet, mixed the wines, and set the table. She has sent her servants to invite everyone to come. She calls out from the heights overlooking the city. “Come in with me,” she urges the simple. To those who lack good judgment, she says, “Come, eat my food, and drink the wine I have mixed. Leave your simple ways behind, and begin to live; learn to use good judgment.” Anyone who rebukes a mocker will get an insult in return. Anyone who corrects the wicked will get hurt. So don’t bother correcting mockers; they will only hate you.
But correct the wise, and they will love you. Instruct the wise, and they will be even wiser. Teach the righteous, and they will learn even more. Fear of the lord is the foundation of wisdom. Knowledge of the Holy One results in good judgment. Wisdom will multiply your days and add years to your life. If you become wise, you will be the one to benefit. If you scorn wisdom, you will be the one to suffer.
Folly Calls for a Hearing
The woman named Folly is brash. She is ignorant and doesn’t know it. She sits in her doorway on the heights overlooking the city. She calls out to men going by who are minding their own business. “Come in with me,” she urges the simple. To those who lack good judgment, she says, “Stolen water is refreshing; food eaten in secret tastes the best!” But little do they know that the dead are there. Her guests are in the depths of the grave.

 What have I taken away from this chapter today:
Again God reminds us that fearing Him is a good thing. A healthy fear of the Lord leads to a life full of peace and joy. When we fear the Lord and accept His invitation to have a personal relationship with Him, we begin to see just how empty our lives were before Him. Prior to accepting Christ into my life, I knew that I was missing something but had no idea just how empty my life was. Even today, as my relationship deepens, I am blown away with the fruits being produced. God is so good and once you truly taste the salvation offered, you will never want to go back to that place of emptiness and selfishness. Success and true Godly fulfillment are not the same.
When I reflect upon my life before Jesus, I can see how many times He was right there calling out to me. I refused to accept His invitation to the feast of life He offers to us all. I allowed misconceptions and human errors to keep me from digging deeper. I actually hated Christianity for the better part of my life. I laugh when I think of all the reasons and the uneducated statements I would make on a regular basis.
Part of me wishes I listened to God’s call earlier and part of me is thankful that I can truly understand where people are coming from when they are rejecting Jesus and attacking me as a believer. I get it and I can share with them from that place.
My prayer for today:
Jesus, You are truly amazing. I thank You for never giving up and for Your unconditional love. Thank You for walking with me, even when I was Your true enemy. I ask that You continue to work in this life You have given to me and to use me as You see fit. Let me be a light in the darkness that surrounds us all. Let all who read this be changed and look to You for more. In the precious name of Jesus I pray these things. Amen.
Leave a Reply

