Proverbs Study Day 29

Good morning Lord, we come before You with open hearts. Let Your Word seep into the depths of me.
 


Proverbs 29

Whoever stubbornly refuses to accept criticism will suddenly be destroyed beyond recovery. When the godly are in authority, the people rejoice. But when the wicked are in power, they groan. The man who loves wisdom brings joy to his father, but if he hangs around with prostitutes, his wealth is wasted. A just king gives stability to his nation, but one who demands bribes destroys it. To flatter friends is to lay a trap for their feet. Evil people are trapped by sin, but the righteous escape, shouting for joy. The godly care about the rights of the poor; the wicked don’t care at all. Mockers can get a whole town agitated, but the wise will calm anger. If a wise person takes a fool to court, there will be ranting and ridicule but no satisfaction. The bloodthirsty hate blameless people, but the upright seek to help them. Fools vent their anger, but the wise quietly hold it back. If a ruler pays attention to liars, all his advisers will be wicked. The poor and the oppressor have this in common— the lord gives sight to the eyes of both. If a king judges the poor fairly, his throne will last forever. To discipline a child produces wisdom, but a mother is disgraced by an undisciplined child. When the wicked are in authority, sin flourishes, but the godly will live to see their downfall. Discipline your children, and they will give you peace of mind and will make your heart glad. When people do not accept divine guidance, they run wild. But whoever obeys the law is joyful. Words alone will not discipline a servant; the words may be understood, but they are not heeded. There is more hope for a fool than for someone who speaks without thinking. A servant pampered from childhood will become a rebel. An angry person starts fights; a hot-tempered person commits all kinds of sin. Pride ends in humiliation, while humility brings honor. If you assist a thief, you only hurt yourself. You are sworn to tell the truth, but you dare not testify. Fearing people is a dangerous trap, but trusting the lord means safety. Many seek the ruler’s favor, but justice comes from the lord . The righteous despise the unjust; the wicked despise the godly.


 

 
What did I learn from this chapter today:

What hits me the most today is the fact that I once was that person who’s anger flared all the time. It still does, but God has done a mighty work in me.

I can look upon these words and testify from personal experience that the life I led was full of destruction. I was unaware of the pain and suffering I was experiencing and inflicting until it was gone. When I choose God’s path my burdens are truly lifted.

These are not mere words written long ago that are no longer applicable. There is power in the Word of God. I know it can seem impossible at first, but when you surrender and allow God to do the work in you that He desires, you will be blown away.

Today I challenge us all to surrender. Allow our loving God to work in us. Follow His commands and sit back in awe when He truly transforms our lives in ways we never thought possible.

My prayer for today:

Lord, I give You permission to work in this life. I know that I can get in the way of Your work and I don’t want to. I want all of You, for You are good. I have seen the beauty that You have brought into this broken life and I want more. I was to shout from the roof tops of Your glory. Today I choose You. This life on earth may be short, but we have eternity together and I choose the life You give over the death of this world. In the precious name of Jesus I pray these things. Amen.

Leave a Reply

