Another perspective

Last night our Pastor was discussing Psalms 139 and it just reminded me of how my perspective is in need of adjustment. How could I be anxious for anything when the Psalms tell us this?

Psalms 139:1-24 NLT O  lord , you have examined my heart and know everything about me. You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my thoughts even when I’m far away. You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do. You know what I am going to say even before I say it, lord . You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand! I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave, you are there. If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me. I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night— but even in darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are the same to you. You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me! O God, if only you would destroy the wicked! Get out of my life, you murderers! They blaspheme you; your enemies misuse your name. O  lord , shouldn’t I hate those who hate you? Shouldn’t I despise those who oppose you? Yes, I hate them with total hatred, for your enemies are my enemies. Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. Point out anything in me that offends you, and leadme along the path of everlasting life.

As we read this I thought about all the anxiety I hold and that it’s completely unnecessary. God knows my story beginning to end. He is the author of my life and I can rest in the fact that He knows me, loves me and is with me in all things. Even when I was His enemy,  He was by my side. I often stress about the unknown and know that it’s time to replace that with being still and knowing He is God. He has always been there and has performed such miracles in my life, why do I worry? It’s never been a conscious thought of “how will God work here”, but I think I’m essentially saying that when I am anxious. My heart needs to be taught to rest in the knowledge that my God is greater and He is actively working in my life. I am comfortable with God’s timing and need to remember that His plans are always in place. I need not worry about the people involved, the circumstances around whatever I am anxious for, He is perfect and I am right where I should be. By now I can look back and see how each and every person and experience bin my life has shaped me and brought me to where I am today. I can’t wait to see how much more as I continue this walk. I will follow God in all things, I choose to put my life in His hands and to walk boldly, knowing that I need not fear anything of this world. The Creator is on my side and I want to always be on His.

Leave a Reply

